KnowYourDrive TrueMotion FAQs

  1. In a word: “Automagically.” You never need to start, stop, open or close your app to accurately capture your driving. So just let it ride… To be a bit more scientific, the app is “sleeping” in the background waiting for driving-like behavior (it does this to minimize data and battery consumption when you’re not driving). When it sees movement that looks like driving (e.g. speed, location), the app begins recording at higher fidelity. The data from each trip is processed so that we can show you things like the route you took, the distance and time you drove, and scores on things like Distracted Driving, Hard Brakes, etc.

  2. KnowYourDrive uses cutting edge technology that analyzes a bunch of aspects of your driving and behavior to identify whether you’re a driver in a car, a passenger in a car or traveling via some other mode of transit. On occasion, the app may miss-classify a trip. When this happens, you can tap on the trip and edit the mode by tapping the transit mode icon in the top right. This information helps the app better classify future trips.

  3. In KnowYourDrive, your score is a measure of how safely you drive. Possible scores range from 0-100. Your score will update about 5-10 minutes after each trip you take.

    Your score is based on the following factors:

    Total Hours Driven: How many hours you generally drive. While we know it’s hard to change, the more you drive the more you’re at risk of an accident.

    Time of the Day: How much you drive during times when the road is less safe, such as during evening or late night.

    Sudden Braking: How often you’re stopping quickly. This is an indicator of not anticipating and following other cars too closely.

    High Speed: How often you exceed the speed of 130 km/hr. (approx. 80 mph). Higher speed reduces the time you have to respond behind the wheel.

    Quick Acceleration: How often you accelerate quickly. Frequent sudden acceleration is generally an indicator of risky driving.

    Low Speed: How often you drive below the speed of 45 mph. While lower speed is generally considered safer, it also signifies driving in more densely populated or congested areas.

    Distracted Driving: (Not used in calculating Total Score) How often you use your phone while driving. Both phone use in your hand and hands free phone calls count. Passive use of music, navigation apps, etc. doesn’t count.

  4. Ohio, Arizona, Indiana, Missouri, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Washington, Georgia, Nevada, Illinois, Oregon, Utah:

    App:  0-42 43-50 51-62 63-74 75-100
    Program Discount:  2% 5% 10% 15% 20%

     

    Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota:

    App: 0-5 53-62 63-92 93-100
    Program Discount: 2% 10%
    15% 20%
  5. The introductory discount is 5%.*

    *Utah’s introductory discount is 2%.

  6. Like any app that uses your location, KnowYourDrive can affect your battery life, but we’re really careful about when and how we use your location, particularly your phone’s GPS feature, and we’re continually optimizing for better and better battery performance. KnowYourDrive uses a negligible amount of battery when you’re not driving, and slightly more while you’re taking a trip. Most people won’t notice a significant battery difference after installing KnowYourDrive, but if you have a particularly long commute or an older phone, you may want to plug in while driving.

  7. The app is designed to minimize data usage to an unnoticeable level. The app records driving on the phone, compresses this data to minimize its size, and then sends that data up to our servers for further processing. Data is transmitted using either Wi-Fi or your data plan, depending on which network is available at the time of upload. The app is expected to use between 30-60MB / month, which represents a very small fraction of the average data plan (usually at least 1000 – 2000 MB or more per month).

  8. The app cannot differentiate between trips for pleasure and trips for work. If you are a first responder who wants to participate in the program we recommend you turn off the GPS, location permissions or simply log out of the app during your shift. You will need to remember to re-enable or log back in though!